Skip to Main Content
Contact Us   |   Keyword Search: 
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
Committee on Human Rights
of the NAS, NAE, and NAM

About Us


International Human Rights Network

Support Us

Quick Links

For members of the NAS, NAE, NAM, and International Human Rights Network:

Help us support the rights 
of scientists, engineers, 
and health professionals


Contact Us
Committee on Human Rights
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth Street, NW .
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 334-3043
Fax: (202) 334-2225

CHR Membership

Chair                                                                            Vice Chair                                                                  
Martin Chalfie
Columbia University
New York, New York

Mary Jane West-Eberhard
Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute
University of Costa Rica
Ciudad Universitaria, Costa Rica


Bruce Alberts
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, California

Christine Cassel
The National Quality Forum
Washington, District of Columbia

Michael T. Clegg
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, California

John Hildebrand
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona
*Ex Officio Member

John G. Kassakian
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Michael Katz
March of Dimes Foundation
White Plains, New York 

Anthony Leggett
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, Illinois

Elaine Oran
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland

Elsa Reichmanis
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia

Beth Simmons
Harvard University
Boston, Massachusetts

Inder Verma
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
La Jolla, California


In addition to the 13 members of the Committee on Human Rights, more than 1,500 members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine are volunteers who bring their personal prestige to bear. The CHR’s Action Alerts (usually one a month) are sent to these volunteer “correspondents”, then take individual action on the cases, particularly those cases for which they believe their personal appeals will have, perhaps, a special or uniquely positive influence. Once these individuals are identified, the CHR particularly works with them to discuss and develop or refine effective strategies that might gain the prisoner’s release or, at least, improved conditions of confinement.