Jonsson Center: Carriage House
Built as part of the original estate, the Carriage House dates back to 1894. The Marshall family was very fond of horses, and they were always engaged in equestrian activities. On the spot where the deck now stands, box stalls for the horses once stood and at one time there were 19 horses and ponies housed in this location. The second floor of the House was a residence for the caretaker and the first floor accommodated the livery, carriages, pony carts, and sleighs.
Refurbished to its present condition in the winter of 1991-1992 this building now contains the largest conference room at the Center, seating a maximum of 110 persons in a theatre style configuration. Frequently groups will use this location for plenary sessions and the "break-out" or divide into smaller working and writing groups which meet in the main house.
Also, the Carriage House offers quiet decks with picturesque views of the woods and the sea.